Welcome guest. Sign in here

Demystifying educational publishing

Wednesday 28 October 2020

Time: 6:00pm AEDT (Qld: 5.00pm AEST)
LOCAL START TIMES
NZ: 8:00pm NZDT
NORFOLK ISLAND: 6:00pm NFT
TAS/ACT/VIC/NSW: 6:00pm AEDT
SA: 5:30pm ACDT
QLD: 5:00pm AEST
NT: 4:30pm ACST
WA: 3:00pm AWST
Venue: Online via Zoom meetings; all registrants will receive the Zoom meeting link before the event
Cost: IPEd members AUD10, non-members AUD15

BOOK HERE.

Bookings close: Monday 26 October 2020

Presenter
Jocelyn Hargrave has taught writing, editing and publishing at Monash University and the University of Melbourne since submitting her doctorate in 2016. She is the author of The Evolution of Editorial Style in Early Modern England (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019); numerous articles derived from her Masters and doctoral research published in scholarly journals such as Script & Print, Publishing Research Quarterly and the Journal of Scholarly Publishing; and is currently writing her second book, Pedagogy and Editorial Practice, to be published by Cambridge University Press in 2021. Jocelyn has worked in the educational publishing industry for twenty-three years; presently, she is employed as a freelance editor for Oxford University Press.

Description
A much-needed dialogue in academia and industry is one on the marginalisation of educational publishing, with particular preference given to trade/literary publishing, despite the significance of educational publishing to the Australian publishing market: sales of educational print products in 2018 amounted to $577 million and for digital, $194 million, which represented approximately 40% of all sales. The purpose of this talk, therefore, is to demystify educational publishing: to give an overview of this publishing sector, especially in Melbourne, how editorial practices have evolved over the past ten years (moving from print to digital), and the benefits of working in a sector that is considered less romantic, especially for those entering the industry after completing their university study.

This event will be recorded and may be shared with or purchased by other members and non-members. Attendance at this event confirms that you are aware of this.

 

Back : Next