Welcome guest. Sign in here

Imitation is Art: Editing Fanfiction

Thursday 24 September 2020

Date: Thursday 24 September 2020
Time: 6:00 to 7:00 pm AEST plus Q&A
LOCAL START TIMES
NZ: 8:00 pm NZST
NORFOLK ISLAND: 7:00 pm NFT
TAS/ACT/VIC/QLD/NSW: 6:00 pm AEST
SA/NT: 5:30 pm ACST
WA: 4:00 pm AWST
Venue: Online via Zoom meetings; all registrants will receive the Zoom meeting link before the event.
Cost: IPEd members AUD10, non-members AUD15

Bookings close: Tuesday 22 September 2020.

BOOK HERE

Presenter
Jes Layton is the Media, Communications and Administration Coordinator for the UNESCO Melbourne City of Literature Office as well as Express Media. He is a writer and artist with work found in Junkee, Voiceworks, Kill Your Darlings, the AZE Journal, Concrete Queers, the Victorian Writer, Enby Life, and scattered elsewhere online. Jes has presented at a variety of both local and national writers festivals unpacking queerness, fandom, and pop culture. Her story 'Chemical Expression' was published in Underdog: #LoveOzYA Short Stories. Find Jes online at @AGeekWithAHat.

Apart from having several essays and pieces published contextualising and exploring fanfiction for those who may not be familiar with it, Jes has also participated in panels, and headed reading events, workshops and Q+As about fanfiction and digital literature at a variety of writers festivals, including Melbourne Writers Festival, Sydney Writers Festival, Emerging Writers Festival, National Young Writers Festival and Digital Writers Festival, the last being an online tour of some fanfiction sites and platforms.

Description
Fanfiction is one of the most hotly debated subjects in the world of literature, with just as many readers and writers praising it as condemning it. As polarising as it may be, fanfiction has been and continues to be the bread and butter of some of today's most successful authors: E.L. James, Cassandra Clare, Marissa Meyer, Neil Gaiman, Dante. But what is fanfiction, exactly? And what is the role of the editor in this unique and historic form of writing? Writer and artist Jes Layton will take you from the roots of fanfiction and its emergence into the public sphere to practical insights into working with fanfiction, alongside a casual discussion of the impact the internet is having on the writer/editor relationship.

'Fanfiction is not only the start or "practise mat" of many writers' and editors' creative journeys but also a growing, diverse and boundary-pushing form of writing all on its own.'

This event may be recorded and shared with or purchased by other members and non-members. Attendance at this event confirms that you are aware of this.

 

Back