Welcome guest. Sign in here

The Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award - the Rosie

Editors Queensland, a branch of the Institute of Professional Editors (IPEd), has initiated an IPEd award for editorial excellence in Rosanne Fitzgibbon's memory - the Rosie. The winner of the first Rosie Award will be announced at the 8th IPEd National Editors Conference, Brisbane, 13-15 September 2017.

The Rosie honours the memory of Rosanne Fitzgibbon DE (1947-2012), a distinguished editor of literary fiction and non-fiction, as well as of scholarly work in literary studies, and the recipient of the inaugural Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship in 1992. 'Rosie', as she was known, gave generously to her authors and to her profession, serving in many roles in many organisations.

The Rosie is an award to recognise excellence in editing, as demonstrated in one work, with testimony from author, publisher and editor. The nomination can come from any of the parties.

The nominated work may be a fiction or non-fiction published work in any genre, or another substantial body of work.

The Rosie will be awarded biennially, in the year of the IPEd National Editors Conference (alternate years to the Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship, also sponsored by IPEd).

An editor may be nominated for more than one project in a given year and may be nominated in multiple years, provided the nominations are for different editorial relationships.

The nomination process is in two parts:

1. an initial short nomination (NOMINATIONS CLOSED for 2017), from which the judges select a long-list of nominees;

2. a more detailed nomination, involving short written commentaries from author, publisher and editor, which long-listed nominees are asked to submit at a later date. A shortlist is then drawn up.

The inaugural Rosie will be awarded at the conference dinner on Thursday 14 September 2017.

The winner of the Rosie will receive a cash prize of $4000.


Back : Next